syllabus | schedule | assignments and projects | readings | links

Click Here for a calendar at a glance

January


Day 1 Monday, January 9

Monitor meeting at 5pm, Tuesday in room 246 Wolfe.
Introduction, overview of course (Syllabus), accounts, make class folder.

Give Presentation assignment
Assignment Presentation Assignment
Assign Students to topics.

Give and go over assignment number one.
Assignment Assignment 1 - Your Current Art



Day 2 Wednesday, January 11

DUE Part I Assignment one, class presentations
Give Assignment 2, Story Telling and Narrative in Still Imagery
Assignment 2 Details

Monday, January 16

MLK day NO CLASS!!


Day 3 Wednesday, January 18

DUE Assignment One, Part II, Write ups (collect).
Finish presentations from Wednesday.
Go over assignment 2 in greater depth.
Presentations, story telling (2 people).

Come prepared to work on story telling assignment for the next class.


Day 4 Monday, January 23

If need be, finish story telling presentations.
Work time, Assignment #2

Come prepared to work on story telling assignment for the next class.


Day 5 Wednesday, January 25

Work Time, Assignment #2.


Day 6 Monday, January 30

DUE Assignment Two
Critique Part 1

February


Day 7 Wednesday, February 1

Critique Part 2
Give Assignment #3, Portraiture.

Day 8 Monday, February 6

Presentations: Software Techniques, Photoshop (3 people)
Prints for Assignment 2 postponed so students can lean about printing DUE FEB 22


Day 9 Wednesday, February 8


Presentations: Software Techniques, Painter (2 people).
Work time, assignment 3.


Day 10 Monday, February 13

First part of class:
- Work on Portrait assignment
- Do reading for workshop on Wednesday
- Watch video for workshop on Wednesday

Reading packet HERE, Part 1
Reading packet HERE, Part II
60 min film HERE

Jason will give profiling and printing demo (3:30)
- Monitor profiling in the MAC lab
- Print profiling in the MCaP lab
- Print demo in the MCaP lab


Day 11 Wednesday, February 15

NOTE CHANGE IN SCHEDULE
Brett Story workshop using art to make social commentary and enact social change
2:30PM in Kuhlin 410
Reading packet HERE, Part 1
Reading packet HERE, Part II
60 min film HERE


Day 12 Monday, February 20


NOTE CHANGE IN SCHEDULE
Presentations: Input Techniques (2 people).
Work Time, student groups prepare and watch Printing
Work time Assignment 3



Day 13 Wednesday, February 22


DUE Assignment Three
Critique Part 1
DUE Prints for Assignment 2
Give Mid Term

Day 14 Monday, February 27


Assignment 3 Critique Part 2

Come prepared to work on the mid term assignment for the next class.


March


Day 15 Wednesday, March 1


DUE Prints
Short Print Critique

Presentations: Output Techniques (2 people)

Mid Term summary due.
Start Mid Term check-ins.
Work Time, Mid Terms.

Come prepared to work on the mid term assignment for the next class.

Spring Break, no class March 8 or March 10


Day 16 Monday, March 13

Presentations: Theory and Concepts, output.
Finish Mid Term check-ins.
Work Time, Mid Terms.

Come prepared to work on the mid term assignment for the next class.

Day 17 Wednesday, March 15

Presentations: Theory and Concepts, output .
Michael B(Output)
Work Time, Midterm

Day 18 Monday, March 20

Presentations: Theory and Concepts, output

Haylie (Theory)
Ryan (Output)

Work Time, Midterm
Give Final assignment



Day 19 Wednesday, March 22

Presentations: Theory and Concepts
Megan O. (Theory)

Work time:
Midterm
Final Contract


Day 20 Monday, March 27

DUE Mid Term
Critique Part 1


Day 21 Wednesday, March 29

DUE Final Contract
Mid Term Critique Part 2

April


Day 22 Monday, April 3

DUE Prints from Mid Term
Start going over final contracts
Work Time Final
Come prepared to work on the Final for the next class.


Day 23 Wednesday, April 5

Finish going over final contracts
Presentation, Software, Painting (1 person)
Work Time Final

Day 24 Monday, April 10

Work time, Final


Day 25 Wednesday, April 12


Demo How to present your work (framing and matting)
Work Time Final


Day 26 Monday, April 17

GRADED Final Progress Check-in Work time, Final


Day 27 Wednesday, April 19

Work time, Final


Day 28 Monday, April 24

Critique Final Project Due - Critique Part 1
Note: Final final is on May 3

Day 29 Wednesday, April 26

Critique Final Project - Part 2
Note: Final final is on May 3

May (YAYY!!)


FINAL MAY 3

FINAL

MAY 3
3:30-5:30pm
Prints and Final Revisions DUE



Please note

This Schedule is subject to change during the course and the instructor will notify students of changes.