syllabus | schedule | assignments and projects | readings | links


January


Class 1 - Tuesday - January 8

Monitor meeting at 5pm, Tuesday January 8th in room 1030.

Introduction, overview of course (Syllabus), accounts, logging onto computers.

Second life intro

Give and go over assignment number one, Part I (create account, create an avatar, orientation)

Assignment Assignment 1 - Second Life: Images and Existence

Part I Due Tuesday January 15
Part II Due Tuesday January 22
Part III Due Thursday January 24
Part IV Due Tues January 29
Part V Due Thursday February 1

Give and go over reading number one

Second Life: A Guide to your Virtual World, Brian White, Que, 2008.
On reserve at the ARC
Eventually on eRes, Adobe Acrobat .pdf format - Jerome Library - Electronic Reserve
pp 3-24


Class 2 - Thursday - January 10

Lecture More Second Life
Work Time


Class 3 - Tuesday - January 15

DUE Assignment One, Part I, discuss
More second life demo
Give Part II




Class 4 - Thursday - January 17

Work time

Class 5 - Tuesday - January 22

DUE Assignment One, Part II, Check off
Demo installation in SL give part III

Class 6 - Thursday - January 24

DUE Assignment One, Part III, Private Critique in SL
Give part IV

Class 7 - Tuesday - January 29

DUE Assignment One, Part IV, Public Event in SL
Give part V, analysis

February


Class 8 - Thursday - January 31


DUE Assignment One, Part V, Analysis

Discussion: your analysis papers

Lecture Narrative Images

Give Ass 2, Part I, Narrative images and sound for iPods

Worktime: Sketch, research, and begin work on the narrative assignment



Class 9 - Tuesday - February 5

Work time, assignment 2, part I

Class 10 - Thursday - February 7


Demo Garage Band

Work time, assignment 2, part I



Class 11 - Tuesday - February 12

Due: Assignment 2, Part I, critique

Give Part II, create sound



Class 12 - Thursday - February 14

Demo creating audiocast in Garage Band

Work time Assignment 2, Part II(sound, putting together, or creating/editing images)



Class 13 - Tuesday - February 19


Due: Assignment 2, Part II (sound due) for Check off

Reminder, part III (Put together in Garage Band) and IV (podcast maker) due the same day, Feb 26th



Class 14 - Thursday - February 21


Demo Podcast Maker

Individual feedback, Assignment 2, Part III (audiocast in Garageband), should be close to done

Reminder, part III (audio cast in Garage band) and part IV (make a podcast) due Feb 26th

Work time, Assignment 2, Part III/IV


Class 15 - Tuesday - February 26


DUE Assignment 2, Part III (in audiocast in Garage Band) and Part IV, final audio/podcast, CRITIQUE

Give part V, analysis

Give Assignment 3, Images for print, print profile, and monitor callibration
Part I and II



Class 16 - Thursday - February 28


DUE Assignment 2, Part V, Discuss Go over assignment 3 more Work time for assignment 3, try to get contract done today (part I)



March


Tuesday March 4, Spring Break

Thursday March 4, Spring Break


Class 17 - Tuesday - March 11

DUE Assignment 3, Part I, Go over rest of contracts
Demo monitor calibration, have class calibrate monitors
Others workon Part II


Class 18 - Thursday - March 13


Work Time, Assigmnet 4



Class 19 - Tuesday - March 18

Due Assignment 3, Images, part II due, critique

Give part III printing



Class 20 - Thursday - March 20

DEMO / Lecture Printing

Work Time, Make prints or improve images



Class 21 - Tuesday - March 25

Worktime



Class 22 - Thursday - March 27

Give Part V, analysis ass 3

Give Final

Work time, (final contract, prints, profile, analysis)

Will take final contracts today



April


Class 23 - Tuesday - April 1

DUE Assignment 3, all images, prints, and Profile and Prints on different paper due. We will critique from prints

DUE Part V, analysis assignment 3

Final contracts due

Work on Final



Class 24 - Thursday - April 3

Discuss analysis

Student meetings about final contract

Work time, Final



Class 25 - Tuesday - April 8


Demo Presentation (if needed)

Work time, Final



Class 26 - Thursday - April 10

Work time, Final



Class 27 - Tuesday - April 15

Work time, Final



Class 28 - Thursday - April 17

Work time, Final


Class 29 - Tuesday - April 22

critique Final Project Due - Critique Part 1



Class 30 - Thursday - April 25

critique final project

due Final Project Part two





April 28 - May 2

Finals Week

Individual conferences by appointment



Please note

This Schedule is subject to change during the course and the instructor will notify students of changes.