Schedule

AUGUST

Mon Aug 21 -
BRING DEGREE AUDIT WITH GRADUATION DATE WRITTEN ON IT TO THE NEXT CLASS!!
Section 003, accept invite to canvas, section 001
Log into Canvas, go to quizes and fill out student info form
Intro to BFA Senior Studio, review syllabus,
set up BFA thesis progress blog
Project 1 (presentation) assigned and explained. Sign up for presentation.
Project 2 (Art Exploration) assigned and briefly explained


Wed Aug 23
View videos followed by a class discussion in preparation for Project 2 (Art Exploration)
If time, start research for Project 2

DUE Mon Aug 28 : Project 2: Introduce Yourself. Rubric can be read [HERE].

Mon Aug 28 - Project 2: presentation on your artwork and passion (part 1); 1st reading assigned

Wed Aug 30 - Project 2: present on your work and passion cont'd.
Introduce Project #3.

SEPTEMBER

Mon Sept 4 - NO CLASS, LABOR DAY

DUE Wednesday Sept 6 : 1st reading must be read before class. You will be assessed during class discussion.
Both classes meet in PC lab for discussion.

Wednesday Sept 6 - Discuss Reading #1; Assign 2nd reading:

DUE Sept 11 : Project 2: Art Exploration Due. Rubric can be read [HERE].
Reading #2 must be read before class. You will be assessed during class discussion.
Both classes meet in PC lab for discussion.

Sept 11 -
Post Project #2 by the start of class;
Reading #2 - Discuss as a class;
If time, Independent work time

DUE Sept 13: Project 3: The Contract must be posted to your progress blog before class begins.

Sept 13 - Meet students about contracts individually. Come to class prepared to work while professor meets with students.

Sept 18 - Finish meeting students about contracts. Independent work time (come to class prepared to work!)

DUE Wed Sept 20: We will have small group critiques starting today. Have enough of your body of work completed to actively participate in a formal critique.

Wed Sept 20 - Small group critique - A

Mon Sept 25 - Small group critiques - B

Wed Sept 27 - Small group critiques - C

 

OCTOBER

Mon Oct 2 - Small group critiques - D

DUE Tues Oct 3 and Wed Oct 4: Formal defense of BFA thesis. For assignment details, see [HERE] You will be assigned a formal time slot to come in.

Tues Oct 3 - MIDTERM - Formal defense,
Schedule HERE
Mid Term Rubrics HERE

Wed Oct 4 - MIDTERM - Formal defense,
Schedule HERE
Mid Term Rubrics HERE

Mon Oct 9 - NO CLASS, FALL BREAK

Wed Oct 11 - Independent work and meetings (A/B).

Mon Oct 16 - independent work and meetings (C/D)

Wed Oct 18 - Small group critiques - A and B
Fill out ONLINE equipment and advisor form, Due October 25
Link is HERE

Mon Oct 23 - Small group critiques - C and D

Wed Oct 25 - Assign Draft Artist Statement (instructions are [HERE]),
Independent work and meetings (A/B)

Pick Advisors by today!
Fill out online form (Advisor choice, display and equipment) by class time. Link is HERE
Mon Oct 30 - Independent work and meetings (C/D)

 

NOVEMBER

Wed Nov 1 - Small group critiques - A and B

Mon Nov 6 - Small group critiques - C and D

DUE Nov 8 Draft Artist Statement. See details [HERE].

Wed Nov 8: - CLASS TRIP TO ALUMNI SHOW
If time allows, independent work time (come prepared to work) and meetings as needed

Mon Nov 13: BFA meeting, 8:30 pm in the Dorothy Uber Bryan Gallery lobby. See important dates [HERE].

Mon Nov 13 - Independent work and meetings for all students (as needed)

Wed Nov 15 - Small group critiques - A

Mon Nov 20 - Small group critiques - B
Meet with your advisor and get him or her to fill out the form
2nd Advisor meeting and accompanying form DUE at the time of your defense. Get form [HERE].

Wed Nov 22 - NO CLASS -THANKSGIVING Break

Mon Nov 27 - Small group critiques - C

Wed Nov 29- Small group critiques - D

 

DECEMBER

Saturday Dec 2 - ARTS Xtravaganza 5-9pm

DUE Mon 4: Final presentation on completed work to DA faculty. See rubric [HERE].
2nd Advisor meeting and accompanying form DUE at the time of your defense. Get form [HERE].

Mon Dec 4 - FINAL DEFENSE (Times listed on Schedule)

Schedule HERE

Tues Dec 5 - FINAL DEFENSE (Times listed on Schedule)

Schedule HERE

DUE Mon Dec 11, 3:30pm-5:30pm
Completed body of work in final exhibition format, including appropriate accompanying materials (BFA work artist statement, Copies of BFA forms (proposal and entry card) signed advisor form and final signed artist statement). See here for complete list.

FINAL EXAM -
Section 001 and Section 003

For a class that meets first on Monday at: 3:30 pm
Mon., Dec. 11 3:30 – 5:30 pm

Present student work to entire class. You will turn in your artwork. Depending on what it is, you will need to talk to your professor about the logistics of what you will leave. Clip together your signed Artist Statement and copies of BFA forms (proposal and entry card).