syllabus | schedule | assignments and projects | readings | links


August


Class 1 - Monday, Aug 22

Monitor meeting at 5:00pm, Tuesday Aug 25th in room 246 Wolfe Center (PC lab).
Survey Student experience
Fill out MCaP form
Check logins and accounts
Introduction and syllabus


Give and go over assignment number one

Assignment Assignment 1 - Non-Digital Manipulation: The Basics of Photographic Language
Images due Monday, Monday, Sep 12 (other due dates, see assignment)

Light and Lens: Photography and the Digital Age , Robert Hirsch, Focal Press, 2008.
Adobe Acrobat .pdf format
PLEASE ONLY READ THE FOLLOWING PAGES:
Pp 77-81 (Start with The Lens System and Stop after Angle of View.
Pp 87 - 90 (start with the section on Shutter and stop BEFORE the section on Digital Camera Features).

The Elements of Photography , A. Belt, Focal Press, 2008.
Page 6-14 on framing

The Fundamentals of Creative Photography , D. Prakel, Ava Books, 2010.
Pages 22-25 DOF and shutter speed

“What Matters Now? Photography, Technology and the World” , in Aperture, #210, Spring 2013, pp14 – 15.

OPTIONAL: If you own a DSLR, bring your camera to class on Wed. We will go over the Rebels, but you might want to compare yours.


Class 2 - Wednesday, Aug 24

Lecture Check out and Demo cameras from MCaP - Rebels
NOTE: If you have a true DSLR, you can use that instead.

Update Revisit some parts of assignment one with cameras in hand
Class Discussion Go over reading one

Image upload if needed from camera
Work on assignment 1 (if time)




Class 3 - Monday, Aug 29

NOTE: Class starts at 3:30 today so we can stay an hour later for the Lecture

Lecture
Dr. Hershberger on Photo History, 4:50-5:50

Lecture
Bridge, contact sheets and organizing/backing up work
Work on Assignment one



Class 4 - Wednesday, Aug 31
Lecture
DEMO Basic photo functions in Photoshop
DUE Contact sheets. Have available for review and checkoff.
Work time assignment 1
Bring back-up storage on Wednesday the 7th

September


Monday, September 5

School closed, Labor Day


Class 5 - Wednesday, Sep 7

Printing specs in MCaP
Collect back-up storage for proof of organization and backup (mark off in class)
Work time assignment 1

Class 6 - Monday, Sep 12

DUE Assignment One, critique See assignment page for specifics about where to put your images.
Bring prints to class on Sep 19

Class 7 - Wednesday, Sep 14


Register to VOTE
Finish crit from last time
Give assignment 2, Fauxtography and Fabrication using High End Digital cameras
Give reading 2



Class 8 - Monday, Sep 19

DUE Prints for Assignment One, short critique
REVIEW assignment 2 (Questions?)
Demo/Lecture
Camera raw and bridge
High Res images
Details of the EOS cameras if needed and cameras in MCaP
work time (if time)

Class 9 - Wednesday, Sep 21

Demo/Lecture
Sharpening in Raw
White Balance
Contact sheets due for review in class
Work time, assignment 2

Class 10 - Monday, Sep 26

DUE reading 2, Discuss
Basic digital from Light and Lens (70-76, 85-87, 90-98)
Graded on participation

Group questions for reading 2

DUE Two audio stories (Faking it and War photos), discussion
Work time, assignment 2


Class 11 - Wednesday, Sep 28


Meet with students about Assignment 2 (contact sheets)


October


Class 12 - Monday, Oct 3


DUE Assignment 2, class critique
Ask students to review Assignment 3, HDR and Story Telling


Class 13 - Wednesday, Oct 5


Due: Prints from Assignment 2, short critique.

Review assignment 3
Demo: Basic info about HDR so students can begin shooting over the weekend


Monday, Oct 10

FALL BREAK - NO CLASS


Class 14 - Wednesday, Oct 12

No official class due to Yom Kippur
Optional meeting during class time with Nathan for help with HDR
Independent Work time, Assignment 3

Class 15 - Monday, Oct 17

DUE “Family photo album fades away"
Discussion “Family photo album fades away"
DUE contact sheets
Review contact sheets while others work on assignment 3
Work time, Assignment 3


Class 16 - Wednesday, Oct 19

Review contact sheets (if needed)
Work time, Assignment 3

Class 17 - Monday, Oct 24

DUE
Assigment 3 Citique

Mention assignment 4 and BBC picture challenge


Class 18 - Wednesday, Oct 26


Finish Critique, Assignment 3
Printing Demo (Maybe)
Give Assignment 4
Give examples and discuss (instagram challenge and Robert E Jackson interview)

Class 19 - Monday, Oct 31

DUE Prints for Assignment 3, short crit
Review Assignment 4 and Robert Jackson interview, if needed
Mobile Media In Class Exercise (come prepared)
If time, Work on Assignment 4



November


Class 20 - Wednesday, Nov 2

DUE Contact sheets due for review
App sharing, bring mobile apps that you found to edit photos from your mobile device
In progress check-in
Work time, assignment 4


Class 21 - Monday, Nov 7

DUE Reading 4
Discussion Readings/audio for Assignment 4
You will be graded on participation
Making your own prints if not done on Oct 26
Finish Contact sheet review (if time)
Work time, Assignment 4

Class 22 - Wednesday, Nov 9

Due, ass 4, crit I

Class 23 - Monday, Nov 14

Finish Assignment 4 Critique

Make Prints in class
Give Final and discuss


Class 24 - Wednesday, Nov 16

DUE: Assignment 4 prints
Critique for prints.
Due Final Contracts
Student meetings about Final Contract
Come to class prepared to work on final
Work Time, Final



Class 25 - Monday, Nov 21

Student meetings about Final Contract
Come to class prepared to work on final
Work Time, Final



Wed, Nov 23 - no class
Wednesday, Nov 23
NO CLASS,
Thanksgiving Break


Class 26 - Monday, Nov 28

Progress Check-in
Graded check-in for those who are ready
Work time, Final

Class 27 - Wednesday, Nov 30

If needed, Presentation (framing, etc) Demo
Formal GRADED Progress Check-in
Work time final



December


Class 28 - Monday, Dec 5


critique Final Project Due - Critique Part I



Class 29 - Wednesday, Dec 7

critique Final Project Citique Part II


FINAL Wednesday, Dec. 14 3:30 – 5:30 pm


critique Final Critique III, prints, professionally displayed + optional revisions
Attendance is required.



Please note

This Schedule is subject to change during the course and the instructor will notify students of changes.