syllabus | schedule | assignments and projects | readings | links


August


Class 1 - Monday, Aug 26

Monitor meeting at 5:15pm, Tuesday AUg 27th in room 246 Wolfe Center (PC lab).
Survey Student experience
MCaP forms
Check logins and accounts
Introduction and syllabus


Give and go over assignment number one

Assignment Assignment 1 - Non-Digital Manipulation: The Basics of Photographic Language
Images due Monday, Monday, Sep 16 (other due dates, see assignment)

Give and go over reading number one

Light and Lens: Photography and the Digital Age , Robert Hirsch, Focal Press, 2008.
Adobe Acrobat .pdf format
PLEASE ONLY READ THE FOLLOWING PAGES:
Pp 77-81 (Start with The Lens System and Stop after Angle of View.
Pp 87 - 90 (start with the section on Shutter and stop BEFORE the section on Digital Camera Features).

The Elements of Photography , A. Belt, Focal Press, 2008.
Page 6-14 on framing

The Fundamentals of Creative Photography , D. Prakel, Ava Books, 2010.
Pages 22-25 DOF and shutter speed

“What Matters Now? Photography, Technology and the World” , in Aperture, #210, Spring 2013, pp14 – 15.


Class 2 - Wednesday, Aug 28

Lecture Demo cameras from MCaP - Rebels
Update Questions about assignment one
Class Discussion Go over reading one
Image upload if needed
Work on assignment 1 (if time)



September


Monday, September 2

School closed, Labor Day


Class 3 - Wednesday, Sep 4

Lecture Dr. Hershberger on Photo History (11:30-12:45)
Lecture Bridge, contact sheets and organizing/backing up work
Work on Assignment one



Class 4 - Monday, Sep 9

DEMO Basic photo functions in Photoshop
DUE Contact sheets. Have available for review and checkoff.
Work time assignment 1
Bring back-up storage on Wednesday the 11th

Class 5 - Wednesday, Sep 11

Printing specs in MCaP
Collect back-up storage for proof of organization and backup (mark off in class)
Work time assignment 1

Class 6 - Monday, Sep 16

DUE Assignment One, critique See assignment page for specifics about where to put your images.

Class 7 - Wednesday, Sep 18

Finish crit from last time
Give assignment 2, Fauxtography and Fabrication using High End Digital cameras
Give reading 2



Class 8 - Monday, Sep 23

DUE Prints for Assignment One, short critique
REVIEW assignment 2 (Questions?)
Demo/Lecture
Camera raw and bridge
High Res images
Details or the EOS cameras if needed and cameras in ARC
work time (if time)

Class 9 - Wednesday, Sep 25

DUE reading 2, Discuss
Basic digital from Light and Lens (70-76, 85-87, 90-98)
Graded on participation
Demo/Lecture
Sharpening in Raw
Contact sheets due for review
Work time, assignment 2

Class 10 - Monday, Sep 30

DUE Two audio stories (Faking it and War photos), discussion
Graded on participation
Work time, assignment 2


October


Class 11 - Wednesday, Oct 2


SACI visitor
DUE Assigment 2, Citique


Class 12 - Monday, Oct 7


Finish Ass 2 crit
Give Assignment 3, HDR and Story Telling
Assign wm Mitchell reading


Class 13 - Wednesday, Oct 9


Due: Prints from Assignment 2, short critique. You are not required to make a print on your own for this assignment. Instead, you will do this for assignment 3.

Demo: making your own prints on the 4880

Questions RE assignment 3
Demo: Basic info about HDR so students can begin shooting over the weekend


Class 14 - Monday, Oct 14

Lecture HDR as needed to bring students up to speed

NO READING DUE, CANCELLED Wm Mitchell, Reconfigured Eye


INSTEAD Test Drive equipment from Canon

Work time, Assignment 3


Class 15 - Wednesday, Oct 16

DUE “Family photo album fades away"
Discussion “Family photo album fades away"
DUE contact sheets
Review contact sheets while others work on assignment 3
Work time, Assignment 3


Class 16 - Monday, Oct 21

Review contact sheets (if needed)
Work time, Assignment 3

Class 17 - Wednesday, Oct 23

DUE
Assigment 3 Citique



Class 18 - Monday, Oct 28


Finish Critique, Assignment 3
Give Assignment 4
Give examples and discus (instagram challenge and Robert E Jackson interview)

Class 19 - Wednesday, Oct 30

DUE Prints for Assignment 3, short crit
Review Assignment 4 and Robert Jackson interview, if needed
Mobile Media In Class Exercise (come prepared)
If time, Work on Assignment 4



November


Class 20 - Monday, Nov 4

DUE Contact sheets due for review
Work time, assignment 4


Class 21 - Wednesday, Nov 6

DUE Reading 4
Discussion Readings/audio for Assignment 4
You will be graded on participation
Making your own prints in the McAP
Finish Contact sheet review (if time)
Work time, Assignment 4

Monday, Nov 11
NO SCHOOL, Veterans Day


Class 22 - Wednesday, Nov 13

Due Assignment 4, critique I.


Class 23 - Monday, Nov 18

Finish Assignment 4 Critique

Give Final and discuss




Class 24 - Wednesday, Nov 20

DUE: Assignment 4 prints
Critique for prints will be on Monday, but prints are due Nov 20.
Due Final Contracts
Student meetings about Final Contract
Come to class prepared to work on final
Work Time, Final



Class 25 - Monday, Nov 25

Critique for Assignment 4 prints
If needed, Student meetings about Final Contract
If time, Presentation (framing, etc) Demo
Come to class prepared to work on final
Work Time, Final

Wednesday, Nov 27
NO CLASS,
Thanksgiving Break


December


Class 26 - Monday, Dec 2

Formal Progress Check-in
If needed, Presentation (framing, etc) Demo Work time, Final



Class 27 - Wednesday, Dec 4


Work time, Final



Class 28 - Monday, Dec 9

critique Final Project Due - Critique Part I


Class 29 - Wednesday, Dec 11

critique Final Project Citique Part II



Class 30 - FINAL Thursday, December 19, 10:45-12:45


critique Final Critique III, prints, professionally displayed + optional revisions
Attendance is required.



Please note

This Schedule is subject to change during the course and the instructor will notify students of changes.