Schedule


AUGUST


Mon Aug 25 - Intro to BFA Senior Studio, review syllabus, discuss researching a new idea, Project 1 (notebook) assigned, set up BFA progress blog for BFA thesis; Project 2 (presentation) assigned, fill out MCaP form

Wed Aug 27 - Project 2: presentation on your artwork and passion (part 1); 1st reading assigned

DUE Wed Aug 27: Project 2: Introduce Yourself. Rubric can be read [HERE].

SEPTEMBER


Mon Sept 1 - NO CLASS - LABOR DAY

Wed Sept 3 - Project 2: present on your work and passion continued, fill out intitial ideas form, play with the online idea generator, try the plot generator, try the artist statement generator for crazy ideas


Mon Sept 8 - Turn in Pocket Notebooks; Introduce Project #3. Assign 2nd reading: Postmodernist Approaches and Strategies

DUE Mon Sept 8 :
- Project 1: Brainstorm Notebooks to be turned in. Rubric can be read [HERE].

- Initial Ideas Form due

Wed Sept 10 - Reminder about Reading #2, Discuss Reading #1; Discussion about contracts individually.

DUE Sept 10:
- Project 3: The Contract must be posted to your progress blog before class begins.

- 1st reading must be read before class. You will be assessed during class discussion.

Mon Sept 15 - Independent work time and meetings - meetings with students that need help with ideas.

Wed Sept 17 - Visiting professor (Sarit) - discussion with Group C (gaming) and Groups A & B (animation)


Mon Sept 22 - Reading #2 - Discuss as a class; independent work time and meetings with Groups D

DUE Sept 22: Reading #2 must be read before class. You will be assessed during class discussion.

Wed Sept 24 - Small group critiques - D (continued), E


Mon Sept 29 - Small group critiques - A, B


OCTOBER


Wed Oct 1 - Small group critiques - (2 from A & B)


Mon Oct 6 - MIDTERM - Formal defense
Schedule HERE

DUE Mon Oct 6: Formal defense of BFA thesis. For assignment details, see [HERE] You will be assigned a formal time slot to come in.

Tues Oct 7 - MIDTERM - Formal defense
Schedule HERE

Wed Oct 8 -Small group critiques - C , D

Fill out Senior Studio Advisor/Equipment Form


Mon Oct 13 - Jordyn, Julia, Paul review at 10:10am.

Small group critiques - E, A

Wed Oct 15 - Small group critiques - B, C

Find 3 good artist statements about works of art - not general (due Oct 22)


Mon Oct 20 - ****** Full class critique ********

Wed Oct 22 - Small group critiques - A, B


Mon Oct 27 - Independent work and meetings C, D

Wed Oct 29 - Independent work and meetings E, A


NOVEMBER


Mon Nov 3 - Independent work

Wed Nov 5 - Independent work


Mon Nov 10 - Assign Draft Artist Statement (instructions are [HERE]), Independent work

Wed Nov 12 - independent work

DUE Nov 12: Three good artist statements added to the homework folder.

Mon Nov 17 - Independent work and meetings

DUE Nov 17: Draft Artist Statement. See details [HERE].

Wed Nov 19 - Small group critiques


Mon Nov 24 - Small group critiques

Wed Nov 26 - NO CLASS -THANKSGIVING Break


DECEMBER


Mon Dec 1 - Small group critiques

Wed Dec 3- Small group critiques


Saturday Dec 6 - ARTS Xtravaganza 6-10pm

Mon Dec 8 - FINAL DEFENSE (TBA
Posted here soon

DUE Mon 8: Final presentation on completed work to DA faculty. See rubric [HERE].

Tuesday Dec 9 - FINAL DEFENSE (TBA)
Posted here soon

Wed Dec 10 - FINAL DEFENSE (TBA)
Posted here soon


FINAL EXAM - WED Dec 17 (section 1) from 3:30-5:30pm and WED Dec 16 (Section 3) 1:15-3:15. Present student work to entire class. Turn in Artist Statement, Final BFA form, and artwork.

DUE: Completed body of work in final exhibition format, including appropriate accompanying materials (BFA work artist statement). See here for complete list.