syllabus |schedule| assignments and projects | exercises | readings | links


January


Class 1 - Monday - Jan 7

Introduction, overview of course, accounts, logging onto computers.

Fill out student info form

Discuss Project One - Portfolio Site using (X)HTML and CSS

ASSIGNMENT Create BLOG / Journal for course

READING User-Centered Website Development by McCracken and Wolfe - chapters 2 (Capabilities of Human Beings) and 5 (Visual Organization) for Wednesday January 9 - Class 2.
This reading is available as a .pdf file at Jerome Library e-Reserves - see information on how to access in readings


Class 2 - Wednesday - Jan 9

LECTURE / DISCUSSION Human Centered Interactive Design

IN CLASS research portfolio sites and develop content outline for project one - portfolio site using Topic Mapping technique

ASSIGNMENT continue research of portfolio sites - create BLOG/JOURNAL entry


Class 3 - Monday - Jan 14

LECTURE Website Planning: Content Outlines, Flow Charts, Site Maps, and Schematics

Color Theory for website design - examples of color in web design

EXERCISE building on content outline - start creating project planning documents for Project One - Portfolio Site - in class

ASSIGNMENT continue website planning documents for Project One - Portfolio Site - bring to next class - Wednesday January 16

READING HTML, XHTML and CSS - Chapter 3 (Basic (X)HTML Structure) for Wednesday January 16 - Class 4
This reading is available as a .pdf file at Jerome Library e-Reserves - see information on how to access in readings


Class 4 - Wednesday - Jan 16

DEMO (X)HTML and CSS - Basics, and Image Preparation

Work on website planning documents for Project One

ASSIGNMENT complete website planning documents for project one - bring to next class - Class 5 - Wednesday January 23



Class 5 - Wednesday - Jan 23

DEMO (X)HTML and CSS - Images and Links

DEMO (X)HTML and CSS - Formatting with CSS

READING HTML, XHTML and CSS - additional chapters from the Visual QuickStart Guide on using Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) are now posted in the Jerome Library e-reserves

EXERCISE Skill building - Formatting with CSS

DUE completed project planning documents for Project One



Class 6 - Monday - Jan 28

DEMO (X)HTML and CSS - Layout with CSS

EXERCISE Skill building - Layout with CSS

ASSIGNMENT Translate Project One Website Planning Documents into Web Page Designs

EXERCISE Skill building - Formatting with CSS


Class 7 - Wednesday - Jan 30

DEMO (X)HTML and CSS - Dynamic Effects with CSS

EXERCISE Skill building - Dynamic Effects with CSS

DUE Project One - Designs


February


Class 8 - Monday - Feb 4

work on project one in class


Class 9 - Wednesday - Feb 6

Critique Project 1 - Portfolio Website

Due Project 1 - Rough version due for critique


Class 10 - Monday - Feb 11

work time - individual conferences on project 1

Assignment Read Chapters 1 and 2 from JavaScript Visual Quickstarty Guide for - on e-reserves at Jerome Library - Readings - for Wednesday - Feb 13


Class 11 - Wednesday - Feb 13

DEMO/EXERCISE JavaScript from Chapters 2-3 in JavaScript Visual Quickstart Guide - on e-reserves at Jerome Library - Readings

Lecture Internet Art

Introduce Project Two

Due Project 1 - Final Version - Files placed in homework folder on server

Readings from JavaScript Visual Quickstart Guide


Class 12 - Monday - Feb 18

JavaScript Demos and Exercises



Class 13 - Wednesday - Feb 20

JavaScript Demos and Exercises


Class 14 - Monday - Feb 25

JavaScript Demos and Examples from Quickstart Guide

Finish discussion of using JavaScript for Images

JavaScript and iFrames

Working with Browser Windows

Disucssion of Internet Art

Individual Conferences - for Project Two


Class 15 - Wednesday - Feb 27

JavaScript Demos and Examples from Quickstart Guide

Handling Events

Making Pages Dynamic

Applied JavaScript

Disucssion of Internet Art

Individual Conferences - for Project Two


March


Class 16 - Monday - March 10

work time - individual conferences


Class 17 - Wednesday - March 12

Due Project 2 - Final Version - Files placed in homework folder on server

critique - Project 2

Introduced Project 3


Class 18 - Monday - March 17

Intro to Flash - Interface, Drawing Tools, Layers, Keyframe Animation


Class 19 - Wednesday - March 19

Intro to Flash - The Library, Symbols (Movie Clips, Buttons, Graphics), Shape Tween, Motion Guides, Masks, Using Bitmaps


Class 20 - Monday - March 24

Intro to Flash - Sound, Modifying and Aligning Objects, Animation Techniques

Due Storyboards for Project 3 - Flash Animation


Class 21 - Wednesday - March 26

studio time / work day / individual conferences


Class 22 - Monday - March 31

studio time / work day / individual conferences


April


Class 23 - Wednesday - April 2

Due Project 3 - Final Version - Files placed in homework folder on server


Class 24 - Monday - April 7

Flash / Actionscript 3.0

Introduction - Properties / Methods / Events
Timeline Control


Class 25 - Wednesday - April 9

Flash / Actionscript 3.0

Timeline Control - working with Labels
Display List
Motion - Basic Movement (Geometry, Trigenometry, Physics)
Programmatic Tweening
Timeline Animation Recreations


Class 26 - Monday - April 14

Flash / Actionscript 3.0

Vectors
Bitmaps


Class 27 - Wednesday - April 16

Flash / ActionScript Demos and Exercises


Class 28 - Monday - April 21

Due Project 4 - Rough version due for critique


Class 29 - Wednesday - April 23

update portfolio website - incorporate assets from projects 2, 3 and 4


Friday - April 25

Due Project 4 - Final Version - Files placed in homework folder on server

updated portfolio site - files placed in homework folder on server


April 28 to May 2

no classes - instructor is available for meeting with students by appointment


Please note

This Schedule and any of the other course web pages are subject to change during the course – the instructor will notify students of changes.