syllabus | schedule | assignments and projects | readings | links


August


Class 1 - Monday - Aug 20

Introduction, overview of course, accounts, logging onto computers.

Introduction to SIGGRAPH resources: SIGGRAPH Art Exhibitions Online

Fill out student info form

Assignment Assignment 1 - Your Art - due Monday August 27 - Class 3



Class 2 - Wednesday - Aug 22

DEMO Painter

Assignment Project 1 - Group Images - due Wednesday September 5 - Class 5

work in groups in class

Readings The Computer in Visual Arts (Spalter) Chapter 2 - online at Jerome Library Electronic Reserve - due Wednesday September 5 - Class 5


Class 3 - Monday - Aug 27

Present / Discuss Assignment 1 - Your Art

Due Assignment 1 - Your Art



Class 4 - Wednesday - Aug 29

DEMO Painter II

Work on Project 1 in class

Assignment 2 Warhol print exhibition at Toledo Art Museum - research and write - prepare to discuss.



September


Class 5 - Wednesday - Sept 5

Individual conferences and work time - complete Project 1 - Group Images

Due Project 1 - Group Images - turn files into project folder on server by end of class period.



Class 6 - Monday - Sept 10

Present / Discus Project 1 - Group Images

Assignment Project 2 - Narrative

Due Assignment 2 - Warhol exhibtion at TMA - written assignment and discussion

Readings Digital Currents: Art in the Electronic Age (Lovejoy) excerpts from Chapter 1,2,3 - online at Jerome Library Electronic Reserve - due Monday September 17 - Class 8



Class 7 - Wednesday - Sept 12

Discuss

The Computer in Visual Arts (Spalter) Chapter 2



Class 8 - Monday - Sept 17

Discuss

Digital Currents: Art in the Electronic Age (Lovejoy) excerpts from Chapter 1,2,3



Class 9 - Wednesday - Sept 19

DEMO / Lecture

work time



Class 10 - Monday - Sept 24

Critique Project 2 - Narrative Images

Due Project 2 - Narrative Images

Assignment Project 3 - Alternative Sources


Class 11 - Wednesday - Sept 26

DEMO / Lecture

work time



October


Class 12 - Monday - Oct 1

DEMO / Lecture

work time



Class 13 - Wednesday - Oct 3

DEMO / Lecture

work time



Class 14 - Monday - Oct 8

Critique Project 3 - Alternative Sources

Due Project 3 - Alternative Sources

Assignment Mid-term project



Class 15 - Wednesday - Oct 10

Due Reading: The Reconfigured Eye, Visual Truth in the Post-Photographic Era, William J. Mitchell, MIT Press, 1992. Located at E-Reserves / Jerome Library website

Concepts for Mid-Term project


Class 16 - Monday - Oct 15

individual conferences on mid-term projects / show journals

work time



Class 17 - Wednesday - Oct 17

DEMO Photoshop CS3 - Paint, Shape Drawing and Eraser Tools

Discussion Reconfigured Eye reading - Chapter 3 - Intention and Artifice

work time



Class 18 - Monday - Oct 22

DEMO Photoshop CS3 - Layer and Channel Masks

work time



Class 19 - Wednesday - Oct 24

DEMO Photoshop CS3 - Paths Palette

work time



Class 20 - Monday - Oct 29

Critique Mid-term project

Due Mid-term project

Assignment Project 4 - Alternative Surfaces



Class 21 - Wednesday - Oct 31

DEMO Photoshop CS3 - Type

work time



November


Class 22 - Monday - Nov 5

work time



Class 23 - Wednesday - Nov 7

DEMO Heat Transfers - Decals



Class 24 - Wednesday - Nov 14

Present / Discuss Project 4 - Alternate Surfaces

Due Project 4 - Alternate Surfaces

work time - individual conferences on concepts for Final Project

Extra Credit Choose a statement (1-34) in Chapter 1
of The Society of the Spectacle by Guy Debord
(see the LINKS section)

Think about the statement - How does it apply to a current
phenomena, story, or aspect of modern popular culture?

Be prepared to discuss Monday - November 19 in class.


Class 25 - Monday - Nov 19

DEMO Photoshop CS3 - Layer Styles

work time


Class 26 - Monday - Nov 26

DEMO Photoshop CS3 - Filters

work time



Class 27 - Wednesday - Nov 28

DEMO Photoshop CS3 - Automation / Actions

work time



December


Class 28 - Monday - Dec 3

work time



Class 29 - Wednesday - Dec 5

critique final project

due Final Project



Class 30 - Friday - Dec 7

critique final project

due Final Project



Dec 10 to 14

Finals Week

Individual conferences by appointment



Please note

This Schedule is subject to change during the course – the instructor will notify students of changes.