syllabus | schedule | assignments and projects | readings | links


August


Class 1 - Tuesday - Aug 21

Introduction, overview of course and Digital Arts program, accounts, logging onto computers.

Introduction to SIGGRAPH resources: SIGGRAPH Art Exhibitions Online

Fill out student info form

Class assignment Write a paragraph on why you are studying to be an artist, what aspect of digital art are you interested in, and what goals do you want to have accomplished by the time you graduate.

Set up Individual Class Blogs at Blogger.com

Introduce Project 1

Digital Cameras available at: StudentTech - New location - Hayes Hall Room 110 - phone 419.372.9277

open until midnight every week day except Friday (open to 5pm) - not open on weekends

Assignment Project 1 - Research - results posted on your blog - due Thursday August 23 - Class 2

Reading Digital Art, Christiane Paul - Introduction - due Thursday August 23 - Class 2



Class 2 - Thursday - Aug 23

Introduction to MacOS

Test Logins for 450mb accounts

Lecture Digital Imaging Basics

DEMO Photoshop - Introduction to Photoshop Interface, Selection Tools, and Layers

Handout Photoshop basics, library resource

Due Project 1 - Research posted on your BLOG - Email me your URL

Assignment Digital Art, Christiane Paul - Chapter 1 - Digital Technologies as a Tool - due Tuesday August 28 - Class 3

Project 1 - source images due Tuesday August 28 - Class 3



Class 3 - Tuesday - Aug 28

Discuss readings from Digital Art

Group Crit Break into 4 groups: students display key images from their source images and discuss their ideas, referring to artist influences based on SIGGRAPH research, reading from Digital Art, and own research.

DEMO Photoshop - Layers / Adjustment Layers

DEMO Scanning: objects and photos - workshop in class

Due Project 1 - Photo Prints or Digital Files (on removable media to load up on computer or on BLOG - to show via web browser) - need to be able to show images to discuss with group

Digital Art - Chapter 1 - have read

Assignment 5 images/objects scanned due Thursday, August 30 - Class 4



Class 4 - Thursday - Aug 30

Working with scanned images

work time

Due Five scanned images/objects (.tif formatted files)





September


Class 5 - Tuesday - Sept 4

Lecture Color

Individual conferences and work time

Due $7 for Digital Art, Paul


Class 6 - Thursday - Sept 6

Work Day - individual conferences



Class 7 - Tuesday - Sept 11

PROJECT 1 DUE

Files placed on server in class folder

Critique

Assignment 2 prints (minimum 8x12 inches) from CAT due Thursday - September 20 - Class 10 - You may print additional prints for Extra Credit

NOTE Your final images should be Reworked based on critique feedback PRIOR to printing for the best grade.

I expect to see improvements in your images between now and the final prints on September 20 - Class 10.

Reading From Video art, Rush for Tuesday - September 18 - Class 9



Class 8 - Thursday - Sept 13

ContinueCritique - Project 1

Screening of relevant works

Wendy Like from BGSU CAT Lab - visit - discussion of options for Large Format Digital Imaging
printers and scanners; file formats, printing , and pricing

Assignment Reading on Video art, Rush for Tuesday - September 18 - Class 9

Blog Entry - Project 2 - Reading Response due Tuesday - September 18 - Class 9



Class 9 - Tuesday - Sept 18

Discuss Video Art Reading

WorkshopIntroduction to Video Camcorder

Introduce Project 2

Screenings II

DEMO Preparing files for output to printer - Gamut warnings

Due Reading and Blog Entry - Reading Response

Assignment Concept proposal for Project 2 - in paragraph form - due Thursday - September 20 - Class 10

Bring a camcorder to next class (Thursday) - your own or from StudentTech

Final TIF files for Project 1 prints copied into Homework Folder (flattened) or on disc media (CD-ROM or DVD-ROM) - If using CAT Lab - put payment in an envelope or make arrangements with Instructor or CAT Lab - Tursday - September 20 - Class 10



Class 10 - Thursday - Sept 20

Workshop StudentTech - workshop on iMovie

Screenings III

Work Time

Due TIF format (flat) files for Project 1 prints copied into Homework Folder (label accordingly) or on disc media (CD-ROM or DVD-ROM) - If using CAT Lab - put payment in an envelope or make arrangements with Instructor or CAT Lab - Instructor will courier files and payment to CAT lab and pick up prints for class next week

Concept for Project 2 - turn in for grade and feedback



Class 11 - Tuesday - Sept 25

Discussion Project 2 - Present concepts for class feedback

Discuss Shot by Shot - handout in class

Demonstration of shooting techniques

Introduce/assign storyboard

Assignment Storyboards due Thursday - September 27 - Class 12



Class 12 - Thursday - Sept 27

Discuss Storyboards - small groups

Work time

Due Storyboards for Project 2

Assignment start shooting - rough edit due Tuesday October 9 - Class 14



October


Class 13 - Tuesday - Oct 2

Work Day

Individual meetings

Assignment keep shooting - rough edit due Tuesday October 9 - Class 14



Class 14 - Tuesday - Oct 9

Due Rough Edit in iMovie

Assignment create second rough edit from feedback in class - have a second edit done by next class - Thursday October 11 - Class 15



Class 15 - Thursday - Oct 11

Work time in iMovie - have a second edit done - work towards finishing videos

Introduce Project 3

Lecture Maya basics - interface

Assignment Project 3 - Research and sketches due Tuesday - October 16 - Class 16

Project 2 - Final - due on mini-DV tape and DVD at start of class - Tuesday October 16 - Class 16



Class 16 - Tuesday - Oct 16

Screening of Project 2 videos

Due Project 2 videos - on DVD



Class 17 - Thursday - Oct 18

Continue Screening of Project 2 videos

Introduce Project 3

DEMO Maya - Polygon Primitives - Snowman Demo / Exercise

Assignment Project 3 - Research and sketches due Tuesday - October 23 - Class 18



Class 18 - Tuesday - Oct 23

DEMO Maya - Shaders (Hypershade) Materials / IPR Render

Work time

Due Project 3 - 5 sketches

Project 3 research on BLOG

Project 2 - final video on mini DV tape



Class 19 - Thursday - Oct 25

DEMO Maya - More Modeling and Hypershade / Texture

Work time

Due Concept Sketches / Notes for Project 3



Class 20 - Tuesday - Oct 30

DEMO Maya - Lighting / Shadows, Rendering and basic camera



November


Class 21 - Thursday - Nov 1

Work time



Class 22 - Tuesday - Nov 6

Critique Project 3

Due Project 3

Introduce Final Project

Students will be responsible for making the portfolio a work of art that expresses their style that has emerged this semester. This is more than a portfolio.

Assignment Final Project Research - online artist portfolios - due Tuesday - November 6 - Class 22



Class 23 - Thursday - Nov 8

Students Present websites from research

DEMO Flash Video - Create Website Flow Chart - Human Centered Design Principles for Web Design

Due Website research - posted to your Blogs

Final changes to Maya images, placed on server in Homework Folder



Class 24 - Tuesday - Nov 13

Planning for website design - outlines, site maps, schematics

DEMO (X)HTML and CSS basics

Due

Initial outline of content for web site



Class 25 - Thursday - Nov 15

DEMO (X)HTML and CSS continued / Images and Links

Due TWO prints (FROM CAT LAB) of your best Maya Sculptures

Planning documents for website design - outlines, site maps, schematics



Class 26 - Tuesday - Nov 20

DEMO (X)HTML and CSS continued / Formatting with CSS



Class 27 - Tuesday - Nov 27

DEMO (X)HTML and CSS continued / Layout with CSS



Class 28 - Thursday - Nov 29

DEMO (X)HTML and CSS continued / Dynamic Effects with CSS



December


Class 29 - Tuesday - Dec 4

DEMO (X)HTML and CSS continued / Testing and Debugging



Class 30 - Thursday - Dec 6

critique Web Portfolio Project

due Final Project



Dec 10 to 14

Finals Week

Individual conferences by appointment



Please note

This Schedule is subject to change during the course – the instructor will notify students of changes.