syllabus | schedule | assignments and projects | readings | links


August


Class 1 - Monday - Aug 25


Introductions, overview of course, accounts, logging onto computers.

Assignment Assignment 1 - Your Art - due Tuesday Sept 2nd - Class 3



Class 2 - Wednesday - Aug 27

Review students' previous work and examples of work that you find compelling. Discuss possibilities for your future work.

Review of Photoshop and Raster Image fundamentals
Raster vs. Vector images
We Need a Resolution

Assignment Project 1 - Group Images - due Wednesday September 4 - Class 5

Readings The Computer in Visual Arts (Spalter) Chapter 2 - online at Jerome Library Electronic Reserve - due Tuesday September 18 - Class 8

NOTE: No class Sept 1st due to Labor Day holiday

Class 3 - Wednesday - Sept 3

Present / Discuss Assignment 1 - Your Art

Due Assignment 1 - Your Art

Assignment 2 Warhol print exhibition at Toledo Art Museum - research and write - prepare to discuss. Due Thursday, September 6 - class 6.


Class 4 - Monday - Sept 8

DEMO Painter II

Work on Project 1 in class



Class 5 - Wednesday - Sept 10

Due Project 1 - Group Images


Present / Discuss Project 1 - Group Images

Give Assignment Project 2 - Narrative

Give Readings Digital Currents: Art in the Electronic Age (Lovejoy) excerpts from Chapter 1,2,3 - online at Jerome Library Electronic Reserve - due Tuesday September 18 - Class 8



Class 6 - Monday - Sept 15


Warhol Discussion
Due Assignment 2 - Warhol exhibtion at TMA - written assignment and discussion

More Painter DEMO / Lecture



Class 7 - Wednesday - Sept 17



If needed, Painter DEMO / Lecture

work time for Project 2





Class 8 - Monday - Sept 22

Due: Readings one and two (listed below, available through online reserve, see readings page).

Discussion,The Computer in Visual Arts (Spalter) Chapter 2
Discussion, Digital Currents: Art in the Electronic Age (Lovejoy) excerpts from Chapter 1

If needed, Painter DEMO / Lecture

work time for Project 2



Class 9 - Wednesday - Sept 24

Project 2 due Critique and present works in class

Assignment Project 3 - Alternate Sources

Project Details



Class 10 - Monday - Sept 29

DEMO / Lecture Digital Cameras in Student Tech

DEMO / Lecture Scanners, Image acquisition on Web, Photoshop

Finish Critique Project 3



Class 11 - Wednesday - Oct 1


DEMO / Lecture Photoshop


work time



October


Class 12 - Monday - Oct 6

DEMO / Lecture

Discussion, Digital Currents: Art in the Electronic Age (Lovejoy) excerpts from Chapter 2,3

work time



Fall Break, No Class - Thursday - Oct 4


Class 13 - Tuesday - Oct 9

Due Project 3

Citique Project 3

Assign Mid-term project
Due Thursday October 25 - Class 18

Project Details



Class 14 - Thursday - Oct 11

Critique Finish Project 3



Class 15 - Tuesday - Oct 16

DEMO / Lecture

work time



Class 16 - Thursday - Oct 18

DEMO / Lecture

work time



Class 17 - Tuesday - Oct 23

work time



Class 18 - Thursday - Oct 25

Critique Midterm Project

Due Midterm Project



Class 19 - Tuesday - Oct 30

Finish Critique, Midterm Project

work time


November


Class 20 - Thursday - Nov 1

DEMO / Lecture

work time



Class 21 - Tuesday - Nov 6


DEMO / Lecture

work time



Class 22 - Thursday - Nov 8

CRITIQUE PROJECT 4



Due Project 4 - Alternate Surfaces



Class 23 - Tuesday - Nov 13

MAKE UP FROM THURSDAY
Present / Discuss Project 4 - Alternate Surfaces
Entire class goes

Give Final Assignment

Project Details



Class 24 - Thursday - Nov 15

Final Contract Due
I will check in with each of you regarding your contract during class.

work time (start your final)


Class 25 - Tuesday - Nov 20

Presentation Demo
work time



Thanksgiving, No Class - Thursday - Nov 22


Class 26 - Tuesday - Nov 27

work time



Class 27 - Thursday - Nov 29


work time


December


Class 28 - Tuesday - Dec 4

critique Final Project Due - Critique Part 1



Class 29 - Thursday - Dec 6

critique final project

due Final Project Part two





Dec 10 to 14

Finals Week

Individual conferences by appointment



Please note

This Schedule is subject to change during the course and the instructor will notify students of changes.